fractured, torn, infected, hopeful

BAD NEWS

apparently comes in 3s.

After 8 months without any answers, I finally got some big news yesterday. I’ve been hoping for this prison sentence to end or if not end, at least know how much longer I need to serve! Not knowing is very difficult.

The doctor told my coach that I’m a mess.

Not only do I have a tear in my plantar, but I also have a stress fracture in the heel of the same foot.

To add insult to injury, I spilt hot oil on the same foot last week as I was making pasta for Allison and I. The burn got severely infected so now my torn, fractured foot is twice as large as my right foot.

Fractured.
Torn.
Infected.

Believe it or not, I am very thankful today! It is such a relief to finally have an idea of when this sentencing will be done! I feel so blessed for everything else I DO have and everything else going on in my life right now.

Although this feels like a 10 foot drop, because my life doesn’t revolve around running, it isn’t a 10 000 foot drop.

I trained very hard the last 3 years to consistently put myself in the top 10 in the country and I had hoped to come into this summer with a body and mind ready to take a shot at the the podium at the Olympic Trials.  I haven’t totally lost hope, but with 8 more weeks of non-impact activity, it’s going to have to be epic!

If not this summer, then next.

Make sure to check out a REVISED version of the Orange Land video “Racing” which is being featured on FLOTRACK today. 

Serving time,

Michael

MICHAEL DEL MONTE INJURED

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Body

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “fractured, torn, infected, hopeful”

  1. peter
    March 6, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    That sucks but your persistence will eventually payoff.

  2. March 7, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    i love your posts man. hope you get your foot right in time for this summer.

  3. Eric
    March 7, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Tough news, Michael. Your hopeful heart is inspriing! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

