flying home, it’s not over

Fiction, MRI’s and Hope

At the start of the year I turned to a blank piece of paper and made a sketch on how I wanted the year to unfold. Places I wanted to go, things I wanted to achieve and little things I hoped to attain. On a page full of good intentions, I had written how I had planned to stay in Florida for 3 months to train and achieve certain physical standards. Unfortunately reality doesn’t always unfold like on paper.

“The trouble with fiction… is that it makes too much sense. Reality never makes sense.” – Aldous Huxley (The Genius and the Goddess) 


Tomorrow I’m leaving Orange Land to go back to Toronto for another MRI. Since July I have had 2 ultra sounds, 2 mri’s and a bone scan: still no answer. I’ve had a strange injury in my foot since March 2011. It reached its max after Nationals in June and it is taking its sweet time normalizing.

But I have people in my life (family, teammates, coaches, friends, Allison) who are hopeful. They remind me to act on what I can control and let go of what is out of my control. I’ve had to be patient and trust that things will come together this summer in a dramatic fashion.

“If trust is ribbon, then patience ties it in a perfect bow.” – Sleeping at last

Digital Single Lens Reflex and the “Other”

My nature is not to sit around and sleep between training sessions. I need to be creating. So between biking, swimming and pool running I’ve been creating some videos. I’ve applied to Ryerson this fall for my PhD, where I’ve proposed to create a documentary that will detail Canada’s view of the “Other“.

ORANGE LAND was a way to show Ryerson that I’m not completely incompetent with a camera. If you haven’t seen them yet, make sure you check out the ORANGE LAND series. NOTE: There won’t be a video of the week this Friday as I have to leave, but I will be concluding the series in the coming weeks. The series just got picked up by a popular running website called Flotrack.

I have formally begun to take on clients and I’m excited to work with individuals, events and companies looking to capture their personality and atmosphere on video.

Words

Well it looks like these blog posts will return to the written word. Thanks for all the support on ORANGE LAND – the site was over 1500 unique views most Fridays. I’m excited to return home, get some answers, start some projects and share it all with you.

best,

michael

 

Spending time with Vince

Spending time with Vince - one of the hopeful ones!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Orange Land

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “flying home, it’s not over”

  1. Eric
    February 22, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Will be praying. Mechael. Keep trusting!

Leave a Reply

