#2 : any choice is a good place to start

It’s 9:13 PM.

Writing this blog will be the last thing I do today.

Now, where was I?

Right, meaning versus understanding. How does someone experience something as meaningful.

Well, here’s an example. Read the next few lines and see whether or not you can understand it and if you can see whether it is meaningful for you.

At 7am tomorrow morning I’m going continue my build-up. Justin and I are going to join Rajean for a bit of his long run. We’ll do 13-15K at a slightly faster pace than what we’ve been doing. Maybe 6 minute miles. Maybe faster. I’ve just been building the last couple weeks, slowly getting the mileage back up.

O.K. That’s it.

Did you understand all of that?

Build-up?
Justin?
Rajean?
Long run?
13-15K?
6 minute miles?
Mileage?

These are words and names that have to do with a particular language-game. It’s a language-game that runners are familiar with.

I could easily dissect and explain the paragraph in a way that you could completely understand it, but guess what…

It’s still going to be meaningless.

The only way it’s going to become meaningful is if you begin to participate and live within the language-game. It’s about trustworthy participation. It’s about fully giving yourself over to the rules and language of the game, learning how those rules are used and then properly playing along.

It’s only through repetition and participation that you will begin to find meaning in a particular way of life.

There is so much to say about all this…

But I think this is alone is helpful enough.

If you want to find meaning you need to make a choice and commit to that choice and embrace everything that is involved with that choice. And if you honestly make that choice and somewhere long down the line that choice doesn’t produce any meaning you need to honestly ask yourself one of two questions
1 Have I fully committed and played along?
2 Maybe it’s time to move along and try something else.

Although I couldn’t find meaning above the urinal there are a few other places where I can find meaning.

It’s 9:27 PM.

Go to bed.

Tags:

Categories: 25 cents

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “#2 : any choice is a good place to start”

  1. estolte
    August 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Personally, I think you may be nuancing and thereby reducing the range of what “meaning” means 😉 by linking participatory experience with meaning. I agree that I can understand something without necessarily finding meaning in it. But I don’t have to participate in running for your statements to have at least a level of meaning through what I know from my experience already. Maybe “empathy” comes into play? But I like what you’re saying with regard to issues of faith. “Show me your faith without works and I’ll show you my faith by my works.” Thanks for the stimulating thoughts!
    Eric

  2. August 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks for the thoughts, Eric.
    I’ll address your comments now. Just give me 20 minutes and I’ll post #3. 🙂
    Hopefully by the end of these 25 posts it’ll become clear that I’m trying to address something fairly important.

  3. estolte
    August 17, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Thanks, Michael! I totally agree that what you’re addressing is important, particularly in matters of faith. Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

