#1 – fashion, fitness, faith

It’s Monday night and I’m standing in front of a urinal inside C Lounge. Inches from my face is a picture with a pretty girl wearing a sundress and an oversized hat. She’s posing in a way that no one ever does in real life.  The caption reads,

YOU KNOW THAT STYLE ISN’T WHAT YOU DO, IT’S HOW YOU DO IT. 

I get it. That sentence makes sense to me. I understand the message that the advertising agency is trying to convey. Fashion, I suppose they are saying, is somehow related with your Being; your Essence. It has to do with who you are and, I suppose they are saying, it has to do with what you are/how you act/how you carry yourself/how others see you carrying yourself.

I get it.

I understand it.

That sentence makes sense to me.

Despite it making sense to me it’s meaningless to me.

I’m not saying it is meaningless in a negative, judgmental way. I’m saying this as humbly as I can: I can’t find meaning in what they’re saying.

I’m standing in front of this dirty urinal looking at this advertisement and meaning is void. I could really care less.

Meaning is movement and this doesn’t move me.

We’re moved to act because we find things meaningful.

If you find something meaningful you will act differently. If you don’t act differently then it isn’t really meaningful for you.

This won’t move me to act any differently.

The real question is Why doesn’t this move me? 

The advertising people are sitting around a desk covered with mock-ups, staring at their macs, trying to figure out how to move us. They’re doing a damn good job….

A lot of us are moved by fashion. We find meaning in fashion.
Some of us are moved by fitness. We find meaning in fitness.
Few of us are moved by faith. We find meaning in faith.

But again, Why is it only certain things that move me? We’ll talk about it later.

Tags:

Categories: 25 cents, culture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “#1 – fashion, fitness, faith”

  1. Anonymous
    August 16, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Don’t wait to long to tell me!

    • estolte
      August 16, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      Oops! That was me — Eric.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #2 : any choice is a good place to start « Michaels 25 cents - August 17, 2011

    […] meaning versus understanding. How does someone experience something as […]

Leave a Reply

