back in the fold

A few weeks ago I was driving through the streets of Toronto, it was a Wednesday. I saw a sign and called the number on the sign. I went inside to see the place and I signed a lease the next day. I was moved in two days after that.

I’m living with my long-time friend Duncan: professional piano player, OFSAA team medalist and as good of a roommate as they come these days. As Neil Pasricha would call it, “You come home and breathe deeply after a long day of work. You put your key into the lock and open the door. The place smells delicious. The kitchen is clean and sitting on the couch is your good friend, playing the guitar and drinking tea. Awesome.”

I’m back in the fold.

Wake-up. Eat. Read. Write. Run. Eat. Work. Work. Work. Run. Eat. Music. Sleep. Yup, I’m back in the fold.

If repetition causes tiresomeness, I wouldn’t know. I’ve been doing these things for 6 years now and it’s the best place to be. At certain times I’d like a bit more time writing music and doing more interesting things, but as I get a bit older, I start desiring the interesting a bit less… the interesting, I’ve learnt, really isn’t interesting.

The only thing interesting to me anymore, is the lack of courage I notice in people that are unwilling to do the uninteresting. You need everything to be interesting!

Interesting clothes, interesting vacations, interesting baby names, interesting job titles, interesting drinks, interesting names for coffee beverages… but in a world where everything is constantly changing and trying to be interesting, being interesting will make you the most uninteresting person out there since you’ll be interesting with a couple million other people.

A lot of people liked, “Their Bleak is Our Beautiful”, which was a fairly uninteresting blog. It was simply daily stories re-told. So I’ve decided to do just that: A different edifying story/post every morning before you leave for work (unless you’re out the door before 7am). I promise that if you commit to reading these in the morning before entering the world of Mark Zuckerberg, you’ll be satisfied in ways that status updates and text messages never could… although you may not always “like” what I have to say.

Categories: story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “back in the fold”

  1. Italia
    January 20, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    I loved your “Their Bleak is our Beautiful” blog Michael and I look forward to this one too. You have such an “interesting” way about you and see life through lenses that puts a smile on my lips or a scratch to my head. 🙂

  2. Simon
    January 26, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Love your music! and also your observation of human behavior.

Leave a Reply

