the end isn’t near, it’s here

Looking out the window and seeing the trees dance like some Krump competition from Compton was only a bit discouraging. It was 6:3o am.  The melatonin finished its job and it was time to run off the full day of traveling. The sun wasn’t up yet. The wind reading was -25 degrees. On Sunday I was running in shorts and on pine-needles. The roads were only partially plowed (but everyone was still getting ready for work).

None of it matters! It’s all meaningless: work needs to get done!

Some call it reckless, I call it breathing…

Slightly delayed and slightly depressed I arrived in Canada Monday afternoon. After dinner with Mom, Dad and Adrian, I finally arrived at my home in Guelph: I’ve decided to stick around my hometown for the next few months. I’ll be making weekly trips to Toronto, traveling around to visit family and friends and, of course, taking a break from the cold with my annual trip to Venice, Florida.

But consider this the end of “Their Bleak is Our Beautiful”.

My adventures in West Yorkshire were more than I expected: 18 milers on the canal, consistently delayed trains, cup after cup of Yorkshire tea, Sunday lunch at Salts Diner, evening club nights, breathless Moor running, real ales, reading at The Mill, college races, cultured girls, late night uphill walking, public footpaths, dry stoned walls, the random folly, new friends, a new family, Leeds Met with Scobie, Sunday dinner, 4 milers with Will, football matches, musicals, the butcher, the baker, the bridesmaid… everything bleak, everything beautiful!

I’ll miss it all…

Thank you to everyone for following along but it’s time to make Canada’s bleak beautiful…

The End.

ps. Sorry about the cliff hanger on my last post. I received a lot of positive response and did some thinking. While I hammer my body into the ground the next several months, I’ll need something to keep me sane. So I’ve decided to expand on the story and make it something a little more. Stay tuned.

(where it was written)


Tags: , , ,

Categories: bleak and beautiful

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “the end isn’t near, it’s here”

  1. Eric
    December 14, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Great to have followed you, Michael. If you ever want to hang in London sometime, we have plenty of space. Let’s at least grab some time in the new year, OK? Thanks.

  2. Layla
    December 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Krump competition from Compton!?!?! Really? REALLY????

    • December 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

      watched the buried life last season where the 4 gents competed in a krump competition in Compton… hence, the metaphor.

  3. January 10, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    cool

Leave a Reply

