I’m standing in front of a wall

Sometimes it feels like I’m standing in front of a wall.

I planned on running the 10 kilometre Leeds Abbey Dash in order to test my fitness and see what sort of harvest I have produced over the last 12 weeks. The race was at 9:30am so I was up by 6am. My stomach was giving me problems the moment I woke-up: a combination of nerves and something I ate. My ride picked me up at 8:15 and we got to the race a bit late: 9am. I did a quick jog and looked for a toilet but waiting in line would have meant missing the start of my race. I only had a few minutes before the start of the race so I decided to ignore the sounds of my stomach and hope that things would settle once I got running.

Unfortunately, after a few hundred metres I knew I was in trouble.I tried to keep it together and got to 4K just under 12 minutes and then had to pull the chute. I’ll spare you the remaining details. The winners ended up running low 29 minutes and the pack of 10 I was running in was all under 30 minutes. I was a bit disappointed as I had hoped to break 30 minutes and had the race course and conditions to do it.

After a disappointing morning I felt like the only thing left to do was to go into town, drink an excessive amount of tea while reading and writing proverbial nothingness. Snippets of short stories, character outlines, one liners, robust words, sketches; anything to help keep things in perspective.

It worked.

I’m healthy and I’ve got 21 days to try and find a way around this wall. Even if it means breaking it down…

…one brick at a time.

Categories: bleak and beautiful, Body, Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “I’m standing in front of a wall”

  1. Eric
    November 22, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    One brick at a time – sounds good to me. Sometimes the slow route is the most permanent. Keep up the good work, Michael. Love reading your writing.

  2. Luciano Del Monte
    November 22, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    There’s something in ancient Jewish scriptures about a courageous Hebrew who set out to rebuild the broken down walls of his city.
    Out of compassion for his defenseless people Nehemiah set about task of rebuilding ‘the walls’.
    Mikey, you are a rebuilder, renewer, and restorer too!!

  3. November 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Thanks fellas. Along with constructing, I’m also interested in de-constructing…

  4. Nikos
    November 22, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I agree and like what Luciano said above …and the restorer bit in that is what you trying to do Michael…to de-construct.

  5. Mark Pettes
    November 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Mike it is better to be in front of the wall than behind the wall.
    Nice looking wall!

    • November 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      I was thinking of you when I posted those pictures, Mark!

  6. Luch
    November 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    My only other comment about ‘de constructing’ is that ‘anyone can be on a ‘wrecking crew’ but it takes an architect to build something that is vitally life giving and positive. Having said, ‘blast away’ if it needs blasting. Another adage is ‘before you tear a fence down, find out why it was put up first.’ If the reason for keeping the fence up is done, then tear the damn thing down, but if it still serves a noble purpose, than be ware of tearing down prematurely.
    And as Forest Gump said, “And that’s all I have to say about that.”

Leave a Reply

