a slow death means a long goodbye

Where I come from in Canada, I can usually expect a quick death.

Signs of aging appear one night and not long after, I’m saying goodbye to warm memories and hello to The Cold Dark Season.

I’m talking about the season of death.

The season of life that many don’t know how to face. And since they don’t know how to mourn, they generally cope by indulging in fatty foods and by watching too much T.V.

Things here are different!

…a slow death means a long goodbye.

It’s now been two months and the leaves are still hanging on.

Within the middle of September I could see the signs of death all around, but the trees have persisted and hung on well to their colourful crinkling children.

Autumn is my second favourite season (first is summer) and this is the first time in my life that it has lasted more than 2 weeks. Since I don’t know how many years I’m going to get to experience this, I’m taking advantage and making sure I say a long goodbye. Two runs a day, ice baths in the stream, walking or taking the train everywhere… anything I can to enjoy the most ironic season of them all: The Beautiful Death.

And yes, that even means putting up with the cold, rainy mornings, afternoons and evenings, which usually occur back-to-back-to-back (repeat).

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: bleak and beautiful, culture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “a slow death means a long goodbye”

  1. Eric
    November 10, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Beautiful pics, Mike. Did you take them?

  2. November 10, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Amazing pictures. T’is a beautiful season. Kudos to you for seizing the day and having such an optimistic perspective.

Leave a Reply

