remember, remember, the 5th of november

It was a “brilliant” evening. Families and friends gathered outside the Old Glen Pub to watch a massive amount wood be set on fire.

That’s right, on Friday I celebrated my first Guy Fawkes/Bonfire night!

If V for Vendetta wasn’t one of my favourite movies, I would have been a bit confused as to why I was standing outside (instead of inside) the Pub in front of a huge fire with a pint in my hand and my head arched back, admiring the explosions in the sky.

I guess I can thank the legend himself…

I loved the tradition and I think next year I may need to have my own bonfire.

Along with being serenaded by fireworks all weekend, I also completed my highest week of running mileage ever: 95 miles in 7 runs.

I finished the week off today with an 18 mile run on the canal and I’ll admit, my legs were dead as I made my way back up the tramway. I was excited to get out into the fresh, cool air this morning, but I let my enthusiasm cloud good judgment.

I went out a bit quick and covered the first 9 miles just under 6 minutes per mile. I then turned around and ran the exact same 9 miles 3 minutes faster… you can do the math…

I’ll get in another 5 weeks around 90 miles and then see where I’m standing (…if I’m still standing).

On a sad note, The Great announced his retirement today.

This man is one of the greatest runners in human history. Even under complete agony he always seemed to smile.

Although it sounds trite, if more people were like him, the world would be a better place. I’ll dedicate an entire blog post about him in the next couple days…

Tags:

Categories: bleak and beautiful

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “remember, remember, the 5th of november”

  1. November 7, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    Hey Mikey,

    Great article – I didn’t know he had retired, I’m in NY right now! Looking forward to the next article.

    – Chad

  2. Luch
    November 8, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Mikey

    with all you are experiencing and learning and discovering in ‘jolly old england’, I’m not sure coming home is the best plan -:)
    Watching Haile speak was absolutely beautiful and also you could sense his emotional pain, but was totally impressed by his ability to not complain.

    dad

  3. Christine
    November 8, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Bonfire night is one of the things we miss……..fireworks, toffee apples, parkin, pork pie and mushy peas, the smell of the fire on your clothes and in your hair, thinking the catherine wheel has finished and it makes one last spin….. ahhh the memories of childhood.

    thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Christine

Leave a Reply

