I wasn’t stumbling over my feet this morning

10x600metres with 60 seconds rest. A bit of wind and another solo session. I’ve run over 1000 kilometers since I’ve been here… about 960 of those have been on my own. I finished the workout and began my cool down to the train station: I was really excited about what was waiting for me!

One of my best friends and my old university roommate was coming to visit!

Scotty started his Master’s in Finance at LSE (London School of Economics) in September so we planned to meet up this weekend. Although he was a bit upset when he realized he didn’t actually have to buy the 30 pound ticket (they didn’t check on the train) I think he had a nice time in West Yorkshire.

Most of our weekend was spent eating and drinking.

Friday night he came back to my place and we made a nice pasta dinner like we use to do at 1548 Richmond Street, London, Ontario – unit 24. A late night pint at the pub and a comical movie made for some perfect nostalgia.

Saturday morning we woke-up and I took Scotty for a little jog in the country. If the scenery wasn’t what it was then I think he would have killed me – I took him on a couple hills. With the exception of a slight ankle roll in the last 3 minutes of the run I think Scotty really enjoyed the West Yorkshire hills.

Running in this country makes you fit. There’s no other way to say it. The hills, terrain, weather…I’ve only done 4 structured workouts since I’ve been here and I think I’m about 7-10 days away from being in the best shape of my life.

After the run we showered up and headed for a short walk into Saltaire for some lunch, followed by a short walk to a tea room for afternoon tea and cake…

…followed by a short walk to the grocery store to get some food for dinner, followed by a short walk to the Boathouse Inn to get a pint, followed by a short walk up the tramway where we hung out for a bit before making dinner. After dinner we decided to go for a short walk to the train station and catch the train into Leeds.

It wasn’t until we got to the train station that we realized we forgot to dress-up. Then we realized that we had the perfect costume: we were two Canadian boys that could put on the perfect accent!

We had a good night wandering around and having a few drinks. This was my first night “going out” since I’ve been here. The best part of the night was just hanging out with Scotty, but to be honest, I don’t really miss that whole dressing-up-and-going-out-to-the-club thing. Hearing different voices saying and doing the same things as back home reminded me that wherever you go in the Western world, 18+ year-olds are generally doing the same thing on Saturday nights: stumbling over their feet and their words.

This morning (after an extra 1 hour of sleep – we get the time change earlier) I went out for a 27 Kilometer long run on the canal and I definitely wasn’t stumbling over my feet. After a solid 7 runs this week (over 140 K) my body has finally stopped aching and I think I’m ready to start doing some quality running…

I saw Scotty off from the station as he headed back to London to finish up the semester…

Perfect weekend.

Categories: Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “I wasn’t stumbling over my feet this morning”

  1. Javier
    October 31, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    thats almost 100 miles a week. very nice!
    you should be ready to run some significant pbs this year

  2. Luciano Del monte
    October 31, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Mikey,
    I am so happy you were able to invest some quality time with Scotty making new memories and sharing old ones.

    Dad

  3. Christine
    November 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Hey – its not raining…… the sun is out….. were these pics really taken in West Yorkshire in October LOL

    Christine

    • November 1, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      It’s been beautiful here the last two weeks! This week is calling for 11, 12, 14, 16!, 12 degree days with only a chance of showers. I’ve been very impressed by the weather. Although everyone keeps saying, “Just wait”.

  4. November 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    The tea room looks like the perfect writing haven.
    Hope all is well.
    abs

    • November 3, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      It is good, but not where I do my real writing. I save that for the Old Glen Pub. I’ll take some pictures before I leave… It really is perfect in every way.

Leave a Reply

