fall, fell, anything but stand

Slowly but surely Run Inspired is coming along. I’ve been determined to learn how to do all of the web design and internet marketing stuff on my own so it’s caused a few split hairs, but I’m managing.

So on Sunday I decided to repeat my weekly tradition of trying something British. Last week was a half-marathon that never went on flat roads and this week was a Fell Race.

I have no idea what I was thinking…

It is one thing for a track runner to move up to the roads. It’s another thing for a track runner to move up to cross country. But to move up to Fell Running… well, that’s exactly what happened… I fell A LOT while I was running! I fell on my face about 3 times and I don’t think I ever stood upright for more than a couple hundred metres.

There are a lot more pictures coming, but here is a picture of the start: basically the safest part of the run.


photo credit: www.woodentops.org.uk

I did 45 minutes before the run (I was just using the day as my long run) and then made my way to the start line to begin my run/stumble, which took place over a 7 mile loop that consisted of mud, mud, and mud. We were either always running uphill or downhill – a common theme in these parts. The biggest difference in this challenge was that this was entirely in… mud. The minute I saw everyone wearing these funny looking shoes I knew I was in trouble. Apparently there are actual Fell Running Shoes! I ran in my normal trainers.

You can read the race report where the writer accurately expresses my future fell racing intentions about half way down the first paragraph.
http://www.woodentops.org.uk/assets/results/10withins.pdf

Categories: ideas

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “fall, fell, anything but stand”

  1. Christine
    October 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Well done Michael – great acheivement to say you’re not used to running on the moors and had the wrong shoes on!

    If you’re in or around the Gloucester area in May next year you may want to take part in the cheese rolling race:)

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1257445/Gloucester-cheese-rolling-event-Coopers-Hill-cancelled-200-years.html

    We brits are so quaint aren’t we?

  2. Scott baistow
    October 26, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Well done Michael, considering you only had road shoes on that was an incredible performance i reckon if you would have had fell shoes on you would have been in with a shout of winning. Im sure in Canada you also have a huge mountain running scene may be worth ago ?.

  3. Luciano Del Monte
    October 27, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    mikey
    i love what it says about your performance that you did so well running in racing flats, and just a week after the bradford half marathon. Well done!! Now get in that ice tub.

    dad

Leave a Reply

