22 in the rain, I’ll be eating all day…

I shouldn’t have expected the rain to stop. After all, this isn’t Canada. In England, it rains with a purpose…

I woke-up at 8 am, had my two pieces of toast and coffee and sat at the table in my running clothes, looking out into the garden as the rain turned everything a deeper shade of green.

As the hand on the clock moved forward, the rain picked up. At about 9:30 am I realized it was going to be a wet Sunday Long Run.

For the middle- and long- distance runner, the Sunday morning is dedicated to a ritual we call the “Long Run”. Whatever mistakes are made the night before are washed away through 1 or 2 hours of steady running.

The long run is an over-distance day where the athlete will run 20-25% of his/her weekly mileage in one run. Since my mileage right now is around 80 miles a week, my long run is suppose to be just a tad more than 16 miles.

16 miles at 6-6:30 per mile pace would have been a good day.

I opened the door and was welcomed by a wall of water. I hesitated for a second; the thought of not doing the run never crossed my mind.

I started running down the glen. I passed the old tramway and made my way to the canal and started to run towards Leeds. Not only was the water in the sky, it was also on the ground. There were puddles everywhere and it wasn’t exactly warm out. Despite the awful footing I ended up getting to the 8 mile turn-around-point roughly 3 minutes faster than the week before. Progress is being made.

I took off my shirt, which at this point was doing nothing but weighing me down, put my jacket over a skinless frame and made my way back.

The plan was to finish my run at Will’s football match, which was about 1.5 miles off of the canal – if I would have continued down the canal, instead of going to the game, I would have been home and out of the rain within 10 minutes.

I got a little lost trying to find the pitch but ended up making it to the pitch in 1h 32 min. Soaked to bone, nothing would have been better than to jump into some warm clothes and go home.

Unfortunately, there was no one there.

The game had been cancelled due to excess water on the pitch.

I was 3 miles away from my house and if I would have gone directly home I would have been around 19 miles.

That would have been, best case scenario…

I thought I found a shortcut, but it ended up adding another 3 miles onto the run.

I finally got home: 2h15min and 22 miles later… my longest run ever.

I was meeting Simon and Claire at 1 pm for lunch at Salts Mill and by this time it was nearly 12:30 pm.

We met for lunch and we stayed at the Mill for over 3 hours. I had two main courses, a dessert and nearly 3 liters of water. We had a great time together. Good food, good company and good conversation.

Just after 4 pm I looked outside and noticed that the rain had stopped.

We parted ways and I went into town to get some groceries: milk, eggs, pasta, cereal, tomatoes, mushrooms, bread, yogurt… the butcher and the organic produce store are closed on Sunday’s so I’ll have to head up there tomorrow morning.

By the time I got home I was ready for another meal: pasta, pasta, pasta.

I walked slowly for the rest of the day. Walking up the stairs was a difficult task. I thought my run this morning was going to feel terrible but I actually felt easy. Just over 10 miles for the steady morning recovery run and just like that, another week begins.

Categories: a day in the life, bleak and beautiful, Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “22 in the rain, I’ll be eating all day…”

  1. Luciano Del monte
    October 4, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Whew Mikey I feel soaked, exhausted and exhilarated all at the same time. Wish I could have been there to share in your misery and joy!
    See you in a week. Counting the days!!

  2. October 4, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    There was absolutely no joy in this run…

  3. Sandra Delduca
    October 4, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Bad weather like that would put me in the hospital with bronchitis and/or pneumonia, so I totally sympathize! Take care of yourself and keep working hard. See you at Christmas.

  4. Javier
    October 4, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    extremely long runs tend to happen by accident….
    you have to get home somehow

  5. Scott
    October 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Yuck. But at that point why not just tack on another 4?

    2:40’s not bad for a rainy Sunday…

    • October 5, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

      By that point my spirit was broken… I only thought about doing another 4 later that day when I was dry!

Leave a Reply

