cry wolf, cry mercy, cry the name of the one you were raised to believe

We packed the car full; so full it was illegal.

But we got there, tight and uncomfortable, we got there.

We were at Wythenshawe Park in Manchester for the Northern 6 Stage Relay. England Athletics has a North and South qualifying meet for the National Road Relay Championship, which is held in April. Our team was put together at the last minute and as a team we finished around half, which was decent enough to motivate the guys to start training for next year. Once everyone is in full health and not running half-marathons the morning of (Matt…) the team will reach its goal!

Top 25 teams move on.

We were 46th.

Can you do the math?

Over 100 teams, each sporting 6 men… over 600 men! That’s a lot of man thigh…

The depth is obviously impressive, but the quality was also exceptional. Almost all of the top 20 guys have Personal Best times in the 10K of 30 minutes or faster. Overall, my time was 25th. I ran 17:07 for the 5.6K race (3:02-3:03 avg) and made up about 25 spots for the team. Considering I’ve just been doing steady running and haven’t done an interval over 500 meters I was happy with the result.

I’ve just been running up hills and running on golf courses while I’ve been here so I had no idea what that would translate to.

I’m officially excited to run in the Leeds Abbey Dash 10K at the end of November. That’ll be my goal race this autumn.

On a more exciting note, I woke-up this morning and while drinking my tea I found out that Sleeping at Last began a new project! I love projects. They’re creating an ongoing album called “Yearbook”. Over the next year they are releasing 3 songs a month for 3$.

This morning I purchased “October”.

If you like anything that I write then you’ll love this band. They’re called, “Sleeping at Last” and I suggest you give them a listen before you fall asleep, or when you go for a walk tomorrow.

Take a listen:
http://web.sleepingatlast.com/blog/2010/10/2/next-to-me-new-song-streaming.html

One of their lines, which is something I’ve been thinking a lot about these last two years is “Cry wolf, cry mercy, cry the name of the one you were raised to believe.”

This line has something to do with one of my projects this year…

Categories: bleak and beautiful, Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

