Either way, I’m aching…: running update #3


I got off the train, put on the newly released Titus Salt EP and started the two mile uphill run to Leeds Met University.

I got to the track, took off my bag and continued on my warm-up. As I finished my warm-up, the skies got English. Looking up to the heavens Brian Scobie said with conviction, “These are perfect character building conditions. The Irish call this a nice day!” I shrugged and said, “I’m not Irish.”

Brian is a former English professor from Scotland. He himself was a very good runner and he has coached 45 second 400 meter runners and 2:29 female marathoners. Oh yeah, everything he says is gold.

I continued on my warm-up, soaked to the bone. Brian and I discussed what the session would be. “Are you feeling fit?” “Not really. And I don’t think this weather is going to speed up the process.” “I think the weather is speeding up the process…”

We talked for a minute, I told him what I had been doing the few days before and we decided that the workout would be a slight step up from the week before: 9×500 with 55 second jog recovery. After 3, Brian said from underneath the pavilion, “Are you having fun yet?”

The rain was so loud that I couldn’t hear him the first time.

I finished 6, somehow managing to stay on my pace, and said, “I don’t know whether it would be wise or foolish to take my shirt off… it feels like a weighted vest.” I tossed it for the last 3 and got through the “first part” of the workout. I had to push a bit on the last two; the puddles on the track made the whole effort harder than I thought. I wasn’t sure if it was more economical to run in lane 2 and run a bit further or to run in lane 1 and practice my front crawl. I did a bit of both…

I started on my cool down and, of course, immediately the rain seized.

Perfect.

Brian and I then went to South Leeds to do a 60 minute plyometric session with two of his sprinters. It was an intense session; hard enough to forget that I had just worked out in the rain. But it’s what I need if I want to get to where I want to go.

Even while running well over 120 kilometers a week with plyo sessions and 25 K long runs at 3:40 per K pace I still don’t feel like I’m really training yet. My body is aching to do what it wants to do… either that, or it’s just aching because I was jumping over hurdles all afternoon. Either way, I’m aching… for some reason.

I’m being patient, slowly building, slowly progressing, slowly loading…and holding on for dear life. It feels like I’m standing at the door of the plane, just waiting to jump out. I’m anxious, scared, nervous and excited for what is about to happen…

Categories: bleak and beautiful, Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Either way, I’m aching…: running update #3”

  1. October 1, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    holy cow Mikey. I was exhausted just reading the blog post.
    reminds me of a scene in chariots of fire where they are running in typical downpouring english rain.

    glad you survived it and broke through the quitting points.

  2. Nikos
    October 1, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Love the way you write…good account!

  3. Christine
    October 1, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    another good entry Michael – keep up the good work :0)

    BTW – you inspired me to write a blog…. ha! Imagine.
    allaboutyou1.wordpress.com

  4. Eric
    October 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Thanks, Michael. I, too, love the way you write. One technical thing — in the email that I receive, there was text that, at least on my computer didn’t appear here: “Either way, I’m aching… for some reason.

    “I’m being patient, slowly building, slowly progressing, slowly loading…and holding on for dear life. It feels like I’m standing at the door of the plane, just waiting to jump out. I’m anxious, scared, nervous and excited for what is about to happen… ”

    Might you have exceeded your character or space limit?

    Anyway, loved this last paragraph. Reminds me of the walk of faith!!

  5. October 2, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    @Luch – It was a big day of training but my body is adapting well. 10 mile steady runs at 6:30 per mile pace is now an “off/recovery” day. I believe I’m getting somewhere with this.
    @Nikos – Thanks for reading and speaking, Nikos.
    @Christine – I look forward to reading it!
    @Eric – I didn’t run out of space, Eric. I just needed a push from someone to tell me to keep it in there… thanks for the push.

Leave a Reply

