the canal: running update #2

PLAY AS YOU READ!

While I can’t get enough of pouncing around these moors and dashing down the fairways of the local golf course, running on the canal has quickly become my new favourite run.

Here’s why:

Unfortunately the sound on my camera isn’t working and I haven’t been able to produce any videos. I’m going to put up a VERY boring video later today which is just some video of a run I did a few days ago on the canal.

The canal is the longest in the UK and runs from Liverpool to Leeds. From where I am it is about 15 miles to Leeds (and 100 miles to Liverpool). Bring 3 pounds, run to leeds and take the train home? May be a nice little morning…

Along with the canal, there is a river that runs adjacent to it. I usually run along the river and then come back on the canal, blowing by the boats that are restricted to some 5 miles an hour.

I haven’t actually started any formal training yet. For the last 3 weeks I’ve basically just been running 100 Kilometers a week off of 6 runs while throwing in the occasional tempo if my body is interested. Last week I did an out and back on the canal: 15 miles averaging about 6 minute mile pace. Just enough to get my body ready to start working out.

I’m planning on moving up to the 1500 next season and since I don’t have any big races coming up in the next 8 months, I’ve decided to try doing some higher mileage (for me at least). While keeping the quality of workouts up and maintaining my turnover I want to try and get in 12 weeks at around 140K (85-90 miles). If I feel as though I’m running JUST to get in the mileage and losing out on the quality then I’ll cut back a bit.

Along with partaking in several interesting races they have here (partner relays, person vs bike, 6×5.6K relay, etc…) I’m planning on doing 2-3 competitive races: a 5K on the road sometime mid/late October, a cross-country race sometime early/mid November and a 10 K on the road in Leeds at the end of November.

Well there you have it.

And now for this week’s stats:
average weekly weight: 68.5kilo/150lbs
average weekly mileage: 62 miles/100K
days off: 1
total meters run on road: 800?
hard sessions: 0
best workout: n/a
average hours slept per night: 9
aches and pains: left hip for a few days
favourite run: Thursday’s run with Will. He came on the bike but underestimated how hard the hills are on a mountain bike… I ended up pushing him up the last few: Rocky-Style.

Categories: bleak and beautiful, video

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “the canal: running update #2”

  1. Eric
    September 14, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Beautiful picts, Michael. BTW, have you checked out Chris Tse’s video on the Nav web site?

  2. Luciano Del Monte
    September 14, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    will be nice to hear the video. scenery is beautiful.

  3. Christine
    September 14, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    How refreshing this is for me to see my home town (sort of) through a ‘newbies’ eyes šŸ™‚

    Glad the weather has been fairly kind to you so far. Also glad you realize we dont deep fry or boil to death all our food – LOL – have you been for a curry yet, or had some of the awesome fish’n’chips……..? HELLO

    Keep on being you Michael.

    Blessings

    Christine

  4. September 15, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Thanks for the comments:
    @Eric – send me the link to the video. I’m not sure where I’m to be looking…

    @Luch – The video is now posted on youtube, facebook and on the blog

    @Christine – Thanks Christine. It drizzles all the time here, but then you just get to appreciate other things more, like tea shops, sweaters and blankets! I did notice that there is a lot of deep fry! I have had a currie a couple of times in York, but am going to the “best place in Bradford” tonight. I’ll let you know how I do.

  5. Christine
    September 15, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    ooh I wonder if you’re at/going to the place in Bradford where you buy curry by the weight… half a pound of meat (not sure what meat!!) curry, medium heat………
    cant wait to hear about it šŸ™‚

  6. Linda
    September 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Beautiful pics Mike…such a great spot to put a few miles on…keep on trucking!

Leave a Reply

