out and back: running update #1

Occasionally I am going to need to write about my training since that is one of the main reasons why I am here. For some of you reading my blog the details of my training is going to consist of numbers and lingo that is like a language-game that you know nothing about. Even if you eventually come to understand the numbers and times, they will still remain relatively meaningless until you actually do it yourself: subjective truth and personal meaning is created ONLY through use and participation and NOT through thoughtful inquisition.

Since I don’t expect you to go and run 15-20 miles I’ll try and make it as readable as possible.

I’ll only talk about my training once a week or so (which I’m sure some of you will be disappointed about). If you do have any specific questions please ask as a comment: I’m not a believer in keeping secrets when it comes to training; I’ll tell you almost anything you want to know.

So yesterday I was about 5 miles in, running away from York and towards Selby. The sign post read “12 miles to Selby”. The words of Sir Murray Halberg, who once told me that he had done a 50 miler, started to build in my head, but like the tide it soon ebbed.

Continuing on would have put me at 17 miles. Then, I would have had to turn around and run back. Although the British Spirit of Running has given my legs a new feeling of life, running 34 miles during my second week of training would be a bit more than ambitious.

I got to 6 miles in 40 minutes (a decent pace of 6:40 mile/4:08 k) took a few seconds to stretch a few things, unzipped the top of my long-sleeve shirt and then headed back. This sort of run is called an out-and-back.

If I’m feeling comfortable I generally like to pick up the pace in the second half of the run. Currently I am not doing any real structured workouts so going a bit harder on “easy days” is permitted so long as I don’t let enthusiasm cloud good judgment.

I moved along the converted railway, now bike path, at around 6 min/mile pace. Part of the run went through the York Racing Track, a magnificently well kept horse racing facility. The grass around the facility was like running on a North American style putting green. Running on such surfaces actually takes any aches and pains away…

The run ended up being about 76 minutes: 12 miles in total.

It was the longest run I’ve done in a few months but probably one of the shortest runs I’ll do in the coming months. I’ve decided to make the move up to the 1500 next year and while I know I have the strength and speed that is required for the event, I am going to have to develop my biggest weakness: the mental.

In a 1500 I find that I have too much time and my mind begins to wander.

I am hoping that the lonely running of over one thousand miles, across hills and through wind and rain will bring me to where I want to go…

We’ll see…

Michael

Categories: bleak and beautiful, Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

