castles and carousels

Melatonin is a travelers best friend. After a heavy dosage I had a great sleep, woke up, had some tea and ran 40 minutes with my friend Simon (who was the one that brought me over to England).

Carol, the house owner at the Avondale B&B made us a terrific english breakfast and Simon and I then talked for awhile before he went to work at the medieval department at the University of York. I’ll talk more about Simon some other time…

I proceeded to do some work at the B&B for an hour or two and then headed out to see some of the sights.

I made my way down the street until I got to the old Roman wall that was used to protect the city in the Old Days. While walking on the wall I envisioned 3rd century Roman men slowly pacing back and forth on the wall, feeling confident in their position, yet naive to their inevitable demise.

A few hundred meters more down the road I found the famous Clifford’s Tower.

Clifford’s tower leans forward like an English Pisa. I made my way up the stairs to the front of the castle and looked down. As if they were trying to hide some sort of atrocious act that had occurred near by, a beautiful carousel has been ironically placed just below the castle.


I later found out that in 1190 the most notorious example of antisemitism in medieval England occurred just steps above the carousel in Clifford’s Tower.

I guess you can hide the truth, by laughing on a carousel…

I went to do some reading along the river and then had a short nap before going for my second 40 minute run on the trails.

I’m running the 4th leg of the Leeds Country Way Relay on Sunday (11 miles in the country). It’s a partner run, which means you have to finish your leg with your partner. I’m partnered with a local star named Quentin (I don’t suppose his last name is Cassidy?).

Besides a few trail runs and a couple cross country races I’m not planning on doing a ton of racing while here. But more on that later.

Enough for now.

Ta,

michael

Categories: bleak and beautiful, culture

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “castles and carousels”

  1. Luch
    September 3, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    That castle story is pretty eerie. Sounds like you are getting into the natural beauty of your surroundings. Would love to see you in that partner race.

    Dad

  2. Rose
    September 3, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Hi Michael,

    I am loving your blogposts. Sounds like you are slowly settling into the rich English culture. So much history there–something that Canada does not have. Sounds like you are becoming a history buff.

    I’m figuring out skype so that we can connect soon.

    glad you’re feeling better after your trip.

    ta to you too,

    MOM

Leave a Reply

