sweet little place

Yesterday was another sleepless 24 hour day filled with trains, planes, automobiles and a few pints of beer. These are becoming normal days in my life.

Tuesday night I flew from Toronto to Manchester and arrived at 5:40 am (local time). I made my goodbye to my parents quick as I knew it wasn’t going to be easy on them. You can see a picture at the end of this which shows me and my mom; her sadness is visible even though she is wearing glasses.

I was then picked up in Manchester and taken through the moors (very large hills) of west Yorkshire. As we drove through the hills my driver explained how bleak the place is. Other than for the sake of stating ones own personal feelings, making a generalization like “this country is very bleak” is a strange sentiment. For someone who had never been to Yorkshire, it was actually very beautiful: their bleak is our beautiful.

I’m excited for the hundreds of miles that I’m about to run in this place.

At 8:30 am local time I was dropped off at retired firefighter, loving father, current coach and overall, a “dead nice chaps” house: Stephen.

Steven got me a cup of coffee, some toast and honey and said, “Right, that’s enough then! Come on, let’s get you to bed!” He gave me a bed and I slept for 3 hours and at exactly noon he came knocking on my door saying, “Michael, it’s time for tea!” I woke-up and went downstairs to have tea and cake. We talked a bit more, got to know one another and then went for a drive with his wife and daughter. They took me to a beautiful pub on top of a moor that looked over the entire countryside. We had some food, a pint and hung out for an hour or two.

Stephen and I then went to Leeds for a meeting with some of the coaches and athletes that we’ll be working with while here. We talked over another half-pint.

They then dropped me off at the train station and I made my way to Avondale B&B (highly recommend it) in York. What was once known as a chocolate industry, is truly a sweet little place. It is a beautiful! The owner is a high energy, loving women who runs the place on her own. She told me this morning at breakfast, “I don’t do husbands, I think they just get in the way.”

I ran along the river this morning and made my way to a castle (which I think belongs to the Bishop) and then turned around and went back. I’m going to go wander through York today and see the city that was once occupied by the Romans. I think I’ll leave my Italian hat in my room…

Categories: bleak and beautiful

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “sweet little place”

  1. Luch
    September 2, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    mikey

    so it begins. Ya Mom was crying as i was the one who took the picture, but it was tears of joy, and hoping nothing the best for you in your journey and travels. Live life large. Coram Deo always!!!

    Dad

  2. Adrian
    September 2, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Mikey has arrived!
    Keep the posts coming.

  3. Cathy Kuehni
    September 2, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh Michael, you have such a delightful way of capturing words on paper…..scenes come to life! Keep them coming đŸ™‚
    We’ll be praying for you,
    Cathy

  4. Aunt Sandra
    September 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Hi Michael, Sounds like you are going to have a great time, and meet some great people. The four months will fly by so enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

