I’m wide awake; it’s morning…

I wasn’t sleeping so I put on my running clothes and headed down Yonge St towards the Lakeshore. I live just over a mile from the lake and I love going down there and running along the water. It’s no Pacific but if you look into its eyes you can see the family-resemblance. I was 40 minutes into my run and the sun was just waking up.

There is something about The Morning. It’s this consistent invitation that asks me to wake-up and enjoy what is happening. It doesn’t matter what happened the day before and it doesn’t matter what is “suppose” to happen in the day to come. All what matters is that I am appreciative of where I am, because, after all, I don’t deserve anything!

The writer Mark says, “Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he got up, left the house and went to a solitary place where he prayed.” If I am sorry about yesterday then I begin my day in repentance. But if i wake-up, then I give thanks!

On a side note: About 13 hours prior to this (very) early morning run, I beat my old friend’s fieldhouse record (he had run the 1000 there in 2:24.4 and I was 2:23.99). In typical Dave Reid fashion, he said, “Good job. But I actually ran about 2 seconds faster in there during a workout once.”

Tags:

Categories: Running, story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “I’m wide awake; it’s morning…”

  1. Luch
    March 1, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    i remember many a run along the Lakeshore as a high school runner with Toronto Olympic club. Oh that beautiful Lake Ontario breeze on our faces and bodies in the heat of summer June to August group runs. We loved it!! And then there was late fall, winter runs along the Lakeshore from the humber river to tip top and back to High Park clubhouse. A big group of runners together a freezing cold night was often made ‘easier’ by the companionship of these fellow runners.

  2. Adrian Del Monte
    March 4, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    Awesome Dave Reid quote.
    That guy will keep you motivated!

Leave a Reply

