Chicago or Boston?

I was in Boston, one of the oldest cities in the United States, and while I was there to run, what I was really there to do was to solve a question that philosophers have been debating for centuries: who has a better deep dish pizza: Chicago or Boston?! Let me give some context…

Early last week my coaches told me that I would be going to Boston to race the 1000m at Boston University. Then, the next day, they told me I would be going on my own. I’ve travelled around Europe and North America on my own but I’ve never gone to a foreign meet and raced by myself.

The goal was to have a good experience and learn a few things about the process of traveling and competing by myself. I wasn’t really focused on the race as much as on where to put my bag, where to get my coffee, where to pick-up my race number and all those other things an athlete generally takes for granted. The race was decent. Based on the results from previous years I thought it was going to be better competition. Anyway, I’m planning on running the distance twice more this season so I’ll get the chance to run the time I really want! Here’s a video of the race.

After my race I called the Importants and told them how the race went. I then decided to walk back to my hotel and run from there (that way I could see as much as the city in as little time as possible).

It was a bit surreal finishing the race, running close to a 3 second personal best, and then going back to my hotel room without anyone else. It helped keep things in perspective and made me realize that this racing thing really doesn’t mean much in the grand scheme of it all.

Anyway, now that I had finished my race and my cool down it was time to get down to business! It took me awhile to find what the locals called “the best deep dish pizza in Boston” but I did! I haven’t been in Chicago since I was in my sophomore year at Western but if memory serves me, I have to say, Chicago wins this one! Boston deep dish is good, but Chicago is still unbeatable!

After indulging in a small deep dish, I passed out (around 8:30pm). I left my hotel at 4am Sunday morning and caught my flight back to Toronto (arrived at 8:30). My dad messaged me the night before and asked if I wanted to come back home to Guelph for a few hours since most of my family would be there. So he picked me up at the airport and I went back to Guelph for the morning/afternoon. It was good seeing everyone! I then went to Hamilton to visit Vince and Flavia. Then, at 10:30 at night, I caught a bus back to Toronto.

It was a good little weekend but I’m even more excited for what’s to come this week and next!

Categories: Running, story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Chicago or Boston?”

  1. Desy
    February 13, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Hey Mikey

    I am was looking for your email address and searched facebook, but I guess we are not friends on there, but I googled you and found your blog. I am looking for information about the meet on the 19th at U of T. I tried to search the web and couldn’t find any detail on the schedule or how to enter, I was wondering if you can point me in the right direction.

    I love the blog entry by the way, and nice racing as well. I’m a Mike Del Monte fan and have been following your result. Maybe see you on Friday?

    Desy

    • February 14, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

      I’ll find some info and let you know! Fields should be good though. I’m going to pacing some teammates in the 1000 and 1500 and I think the 3000 field is shaping up nicely. I’ll email you back soon.

  2. Anon
    February 14, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    You are a modern day Edward Cullen

Leave a Reply

