the last semester

The truth is, I’ve been busy writing other things. Check back in a day or two and I promise to give you something that you can chew on. Till then, here’s a bit of what’s been going on and what’s coming up.

This is the last semester of my two-year master’s degree. I thought by this point I would want to take a break, but, truth be told, I feel like I’m just getting my feet wet.

On Friday, I handed in my application for a PhD program here at U of T. I would be studying in the philosophy of religion but to be honest, the odds are stacked against me. During the program, candidates must learn 3 foreign languages. If you do not have any languages going in it is very difficult to be accepted. I have zero. I was brought up in an Italian home and told the committee that I could write the test at the end of the summer so we’ll see what they say. The other two languages I would have to learn would be German and Latin.

If I’m accepted, Toronto would be my new home for the next 4 years (which makes me excited)! I love this city and would love to stay here until I meet some girl who convinces me that it is better to raise a family somewhere else (o.k. I’m getting ahead of myself). If I’m not accepted, then I go to my backup plan…

So now it’s a waiting game. I’ll most likely hear back within 4-6 weeks and I’ll make sure I let you know what happens.

This semester I’ll be busy finishing my 60-page thesis, which is on Wittgenstein and Postmodernism. (If you are extremely strange and want to know more about it then just write a comment at the end of this post.) It’s going to be a fairly busy semester since I’m also competing for the University. I’ll be competing this Saturday in Toronto (1500) and then it looks like I’ll be at Boston University (800 or 1000) the week after and Notre Dame (800 or 1000) the week after that. Then, the week after that, while all the students are in Cancun, drinking their OSAP, I’ll be in Florida training and writing. I’ll come back for my last two competitions (Provincials at the end of February and Nationals mid-March) and then, two weeks after that, I’ll fly out west to compete at Stanford, California. By then I should be ready to defend my thesis and take a nap.

I’ve decided to take off for a little while once I defend (end of March). I’m thinking of going somewhere for a couple months to train and write. More on that later…

Categories: Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “the last semester”

  1. Andrew Smith
    January 18, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    Hey Mike,

    I’m interested in what you are doing for your thesis… could you give be a brief summary?

Leave a Reply

