step forward, storytellers

Yesterday morning I drove a few kilometers into the country and did a “hill workout” with my mom. It felt like -15, the wind was in my face on the uphill, and I was alone: I wouldn’t have it any other way.  It’s fun training in a group but every now and then I need to go into Rocky IV mode and test myself, by myself. 

After the workout my mom told me that my brother Vince had called her cell and wanted me to come over for the night. So after eating a grilled cheese sandwich, while sitting in an ice bath, I jumped in the car and made my way down the road to Hamilton. 

Vince, two of his best friends (Giuseppe and Mike) and myself went to Silvercity for the much anticipated James Cameron masterpiece: Avatar. The four of us were simply blown away. The show was 3 hours but I could have sat there for another 5. Afterwards, we went to the Lone Star for some beer and fajitas; we couldn’t stop talking about the film.

All I’ll say is that James Cameron is one incredible storyteller… 

The theme of Avatar is not unique, but the story is nothing short of mesmerizing. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot about James Cameron and there is one thing I’ve realized (besides the fact that he was a philosophy major at U of T (gives me hope)): storytelling is a gift.

There are a lot of boring people in this world, but if you have been gifted with the ability to tell a story then please don’t hold back…

Categories: story

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “step forward, storytellers”

  1. Vince
    December 21, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    Mike, pick up the book “Story” by Robert McKee…it’s all about how to write stories for screen plays. Think you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

