I’ll be home for Christmas

I’m always intrigued by these spurts I go through where one day I feel like blogging and then, for four months or so, I don’t. I don’t know how long this interval is going to last for but hopefully I can get at least a dozen posts up. 

So I’m back home for the holidays and for me, that means Christmas Eve and Christmas. I’ve always loved the month of December. My Italian skin doesn’t care too much for the cold, but my soul enjoys the slow pace of this final month. This semester I decided to do 6 graduate courses and I ended up writing just over 100 pages (70 of which were in the last 18 days of the semester). So, yeah, this month is slowly paced. 

I’m back in Guelph, living under my parents roof and each day I wake-up, read, eat, train, go out for lunch with my mom or dad, read or run errands, sometimes I’ll have a nap, then I’ll train again, then I’ll eat dinner with my mom and dad, then the three of us may watch a movie or go to a movie, and eventually I make my way to bed.

I don’t see my parents very much during the year and since I go to Florida shortly after Christmas (to train) I like to spend some extra time with them before Christmas. The older I get, the more I realize something: it’s almost impossible to spend too much time with my parents.  When I was young I could only stand being around them at certain times, but now I’m realizing that those times aren’t infinite. This year our family lost two VERY close members; I guess you could say that the immediacy of death has made a deep impact on me. Like many people, I do believe in life after life after death, but I still want to get to know those people closest to me as much as possible, today.

My parents and I talk about everything. Since I’ve only known my parents for the second half of their life, I’ve been most intrigued about their past. I love listening to them talk about their family meals and vacations and arguments and weekends and weddings and favourite music and best friends and how they met. Listening to them talk about their past made we wonder: Would I be friends with them if we were in the same class?

While I like talking about their past, they love talking about my present and future situation! “So how is Toronto?” “You eating well?” “What do you mean you’re going to Europe?” “Are you going to do your PhD?” “What are your running goals this year?” “What’s the girl situation like?” “What do you mean you’re going to San Antonio?” 

Maybe over the next few posts I’ll tackle some of my parents questions…

Categories: ideas

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “I’ll be home for Christmas”

  1. Luch
    December 20, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    i love this post mikey. you and your brothers are good medicine for souls. Having a son like you helps the aging process not to be so ‘bitter’. I don’t mind growing old knowing that my son/s love me and their mom so much.

    love you more than life,

    dad

  2. December 20, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    I love this post too Michael. I can’t imagine not having you in my life. You are so special and so mature in your reflections. Dad and I adore you and love your company and love that you love ours too.

Leave a Reply

