Bold coffee and short tracks

Well I’m officially halfway through my Euro experience. I love it here. The pace of life is moderate, the taste of coffee is bold and the tracks are shorter than 400m! Well, the last one is a lie. Last night our Canadian contingent made the 70 minute trek to Gent. Just as we pulled in a brutal storm showed up. We were forced to stay in our car and wait it out. Eventually we made a run for the track and a lot of us were contemplating not racing and saving the effort for another day. Then, all of a sudden, out came the light, the cameras were turned on and action hit the track!

I found out earlier in the day that I was going to be in the B-section of the 800’s. I was the last guy to make it into the heat and the meet coordinators exact words were “I’ve put you in the B section. I hope you’re running fast!” It was a large field. 12 guys on the line. I knew that I had been given an opportunity. And when opportunity comes knocking, you answer. So after a bit of a delay, because of the lightening, we were on the line. I felt a bit worse than average. I got out well and just tucked in the pack. I tried not to make any big moves and instead, just run a strong, consistent race. I faded a bit in the last 50 meters but I felt fine after.

1.49.80.

I know there is another second in my legs.

You can watch the video here: http://www.flotrack.org/videos/coverage/view_video/235261/195017

It took 20 minutes to get the results up and I knew I was going to be right around 1:50. I was on pins and needles. When I saw the result I let out a shout of joy. It’s been a hard 3 years and I’ve given up many times. This just gives me hope to keep fighting and keep training. I’ve never known what I’ve wanted to get out of of this sport but I’m starting to get an idea…

I’ve decided to do a small Twilight meet Friday night in Virton (at the border of Belgium and France). It’ll be 10 days after my most aggressive workout of the year and there is a rabbit going through 600. My buddy Geoff Harris is looking to run fast and so am I (he was 2nd an Nationals this year and has a PB of 1:47.99).  After that I’ll head to Brasschaat on Sunday to race my last 800 of the season. Then, I’m off for a week, traveling around Europe a bit.  I’ll be back in Canada Aug 2.

I appreeciate all the support I’ve been getting and I hope I can continue to report good news!

Till next time,

md

Dedicated to my Father’s Father – Nonno Vince – who is taking his last few breaths. I wish I could be there…

 

 

Categories: Running

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Bold coffee and short tracks”

  1. Luch
    July 22, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    Mikey, i am so proud of you in so many ways. I know you are running with a heart for Nonno.
    I well remember an indoor otfa race that you won at york and how nonno was cheering with so much gusto that he almost fell over the balcony. That’s how much he loves you and all his ‘nipoti’….

    love,

    dad

  2. adriandelmonte
    July 22, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    Also, you didn’t actually say what you time was in this post!

Leave a Reply

